Are you a homeowner or building manager?
Find a Contractor »

ACCA Offers Updated EPA 608 Test and Study Materials

Posted on:

The Air Conditioning Contractors of America (ACCA) announces the release of ACCA’s updated Section 608 certification test required by Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and new accompanying study materials.

ACCA and our partners at the Pennsylvania College of Technology, now offer both the revised EPA Section 608 certification exam (2018) and the old EPA Section 608 exam through the end of this year.

The updated Section 608 exam prepares test takers for new refrigerants and technology that are relevant to today’s technicians. ACCA’s new training materials were developed in coordination with the EPA as the agency released the updated Section 608 test questions. The ACCA Technician’s Guide & Workbook for EPA 608 Test covers all four sections of the exam, (Core, Type I – Small Appliances, Type II – High Pressure Appliances and Type III – Low Pressure Appliances) and includes practice questions. ACCA also created the ACCA EPA 608 Test Prep Course, a self-paced, online program that students can use to prepare for the exam. ACCA also has educational tools that instructors can use to help teach the new materials.

“ACCA is proud to offer the new Section 608 certification test, which is essential for contractors and technicians,” said Paul Stalknecht, ACCA president and CEO. “The EPA’s previous certification test is decades old, containing questions about refrigerants and technology that are no longer in the marketplace. By completing the updated 608 test, contractors and technicians are better prepared to handle refrigerants that are actually relevant today.”

Don Prather, ACCA technical services manager, said, “As with the original EPA test, the certification is based on the number of test sections passed, in addition to the Core that must be passed. For HVACR technicians, the EPA still has three levels of certification. To become certified for all three levels, one must pass each level plus the Core. For someone who passes all three levels plus the Core, they are recognized for Universal Certification.”

ACCA will continue to offer both the old and new Section 608 Certification Exams through the rest of 2018. Currently the updated 608 tests are available by paper test in English only. The older version of the test is currently available online (English Only) and by paper test in English, Spanish and Italian. To order tests, you must be a registered ACCA proctor, for more details visit or call 888-290-2220.

Posted In: Technical Tips

Looking for an ACCA QA Accredited Contractor?

Are you a homeowner or building manager?


join now

PLUS It's Risk Free!