Are you a homeowner or building manager?
Find a Contractor »

Updated EPA 608 Test and Book Available Through ACCA

Posted on:

We all should remember that the EPA regulations (40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F) under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act requires certification for technicians who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that could release ozone-depleting refrigerants into the atmosphere.

The test questions for that certification test were updated in 2018.

Subsequently, in mid-January the EPA sent out a notice for the test providers to develop training materials and tests for the updated EPA 608 test. The test is made up of questions submitted by several industry groups. Currently the old test is being accepted as testing groups scramble to develop updated training materials and new test packages.

ACCA in partnership with Pennsylvania College of Technology (Penn College) provides access to test packages, and training materials. Penn College approves proctors, and grades exam packets. ACCA provides the training through an updated the basic no-frills EPA test book. To help those who want to proctor the exam, a PDF copy of that book is provided along with a video course as the basis for a new Qtech course. This course has a practice exam that may be taken after the videos have been listened to. Once the practice exam is passed a certificate of completion is issued. Certified proctors can then give the technicians the exam and send it in to Penn College for grading.

Note: Unlike other Qtech courses there are no CEUs for technician certifications for the new 608 courses. When the test is passed a new ACCA EPA 608 card will be issued to the technician by Penn College.

As with the original EPA test, the certification received is based on the number of test sections passed in addition to the Core that must be passed. As with the original test, there are four sections to the test. For heating, air conditioning and refrigeration technicians, the EPA still has three levels of certification:
Type I
Type II
Type III.

To become certified for all of the Types the technician must pass one Type exam in addition to the Core. As an example, if the technician passes the Core, Type I and Type III, they become certified as a Type I and Type III technician. If they pass the Core and Type I, they are certified as a Type I technician. If they pass all four sections, they earn the highest level of certification, which is called a Universal Certification and is good for Types I, II, and II.

ACCA members can provide their technicians with access to the 2018 EPA Qtech course by giving them a log in and paying for the course. For information on how to add technicians to the company user’s list contact ACCA membership.

Contractors, distributors, educators or a designated person within any testing facility or HVACR company can become a registered proctor by filling out the application form and submitting it to Penn College. Contact information and a link to the form is available on this ACCA web page:

Don Prather

Posted In: Technical Tips

Looking for an ACCA QA Accredited Contractor?

Are you a homeowner or building manager?


join now

PLUS It's Risk Free!